Blog

Okay, so a few days ago I gathered up the last of the foster kitties to be spayed and neutered, and realized I needed another cat carrier. I went outside to my storage shed and opened it, and as I reached for a carrier I noticed an unfamiliar stuffed animal peering out at me from a box of stuffed animals. “Oh,” I said aloud, “I don’t recall having a stuffed possum.” That was when the possum hissed at me, opening its mouth full of sharp little teeth and blinking in annoyance. I begged its pardon for the disturbance as I quickly closed the door. I borrowed a friend’s crate. When I returned several hours later, the possum had disappeared, but my dogs have been circling the shed eagerly ever since. I’m not sure I want to tangle with a possum. All those sharp little teeth!

My local animal shelter said it probably was attracted by the bird and squirrel food I put out everyday. If it shows up again, I have a humane trap I’ll set and then relocate it, but I’m hoping it’s moved on for good. All those sharp little teeth!

Which leads me to wonder, do possums hibernate in the winter? It gets cold in my area, but nothing like up north, so if the possum decides to linger, I’ll have to watch out for my dogs. Did I mention all those sharp little teeth?

Virginia

Leave a comment